Teaching Award

Outstanding Teaching Awards

The College Outstanding Teaching Awards

Providing exceptional teaching is a core goal within the Helen and Arthur E. Johnson Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences. The college Outstanding Teaching Awards recognize instructional, research and clinical (IRC) faculty, pre-tenured faculty, and tenured faculty who have demonstrated exemplary contributions to student learning.


All current full-time faculty in the Helen and Arthur E. Johnson Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences with completion of at least 3 continuous full academic years (6 semesters) within Johnson Beth-El at rank of their respective award category prior to nomination.  Teaching in any workload capacity shall be considered for the award (i.e.: curriculum development or student supervision under service, etc.). Specific award categories include: 

  • IRC faculty
  • Pre-tenured faculty
  • Tenured faculty


The recipient of a teaching award will be recognized during the subsequent fall college assembly.  All recipients will receive a plaque and a small stipend to be used for scholarly purposes (e.g., conference travel, equipment).  The recipient of the teaching award in the tenured category will be required to provide a brief presentation summarizing their teaching insight at the subsequent fall college assembly. 


  1. Anyone may nominate a candidate (CANDIDATES MUST FIRST AGREE TO NOMINATION); self-nominations are accepted and strongly encouraged.
  2. Supporting materials are to be assembled by the nominator and must include:

a. A nomination letter (not applicable for self-nominees)
b. A narrative (1-2 page) describing their teaching philosophy and provide examples of how this philosophy has been implemented into their teaching (must be written by the candidate).
c.  The candidate's curriculum vitae (prepared by the candidate).
a. Upload Faculty Course Questionnaire summary statement and student comments for the previous 6 semesters (optional: summer courses may be included in addition to 6 semesters).
b. Upload an updated Annual Faculty Activity Report from Watermark. Date range should be January 1, 3 years prior, through March 1 of current year (summer may be included). Report options should list teaching first, detailed version, and hidden sections of no activity. Please ensure Watermark is updated to include any honors or recognition of teaching, and any faculty development in teaching that has been done in the previous 3 years.
d. A maximum of five letters of recommendation (none are required). These letters may be solicited from faculty, colleagues, or administrators. These letters of support should describe the faculty member’s impact on the student experience and student learning.
e. Optional:  Unsolicited student support may be submitted in support of the nomination.
      3. Anyone nominated in the previous year, but who did not receive the award, is automatically reconsidered for the next year. The nominee (candidate) may choose to update materials, but this is not required. Such reconsiderations are limited to one award cycle, after which new materials must be submitted.

Nomination Deadline
Applications are due by 5:00pm on Monday, March 24, 2025, and must be submitted through the online application process below.

Upload 1-2 page statement (PDF format) describing teaching philosophy and provide examples of how these philosophies have been implemented into your teaching.
One file only.
50 MB limit.
Allowed types: pdf.
Upload a full curriculum vitae (PDF format) with specific teaching items highlighted
One file only.
50 MB limit.
Allowed types: pdf.
Upload Faculty Course Questionnaires (FCQ)
One file only.
50 MB limit.
Allowed types: pdf.
Upload a letter of support from your department chairperson
One file only.
50 MB limit.
Allowed types: pdf.